PDP: Sharing experiences

Ohh well I am quite late to blog about our very first group discussion during PDP 1 session which was lead by our love;y package ๐Ÿ“ฆ of inspiration Frances . Fair enough I am kinda late poster but hope it is worth enough hehehheheh๐Ÿ˜€ to be posted in regard with my experiences……

I could not deny the fact , that I dislike the way of being mixed with others group by counting 1,2,3 and 4 … it is because I am kinda shy and worried to get open up with new faces….At the same time I found it quite exciting as we all are trying to be in a group as per we have been divided.. my groups mate and me all of us were shouting I am group 4, who is 4 and bla bla……๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ง๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘งthereafter within a minute or two we sorted ourselves in a chair , facing each other and also we greeted each other with lovely smile and a short introduction…

At the very moment I realise all of us were in the same situation trying to come as a group and speak up coz it is mandatory to do as advised (hehehehehehehe) just kidding๐Ÿ‘ป๐Ÿ‘€… However, I think being in a group from different major it act as a catalyst among us … We (Edson, Sartaj,Tanjuma, Inonge, Miryam, Wala) I think have had a mixture of feeling that time. As we all are from different countries , obviously I believe with different perspectives and goals as. Among us this PDP session not only act as group therapy but helps us to get more information regarding how all of us were finding GCU and how we are coping with the masters degree along with various factors such as uni environment , weather , language , cultures and many more.. After listening ๐Ÿ‘‚ I realise in this case we all are on the same boat ๐Ÿšฃ ๐Ÿšฃ ๐Ÿšฃ…. despite of enrolling in different masters degree most of us shared the same feeling regarding the huge list of assignment , presentation and many more that we have to write and how we are managing it.For , my surprise despite having different majors, different attitudes it’s not only me who felt it quite stressful but all of us were in same condition. During this conversation we too get opportunity to talk about our background as well as how we have been studied in our native country.

During this session I got chances to challenge myself to learn new things because all my groups mates had a kind of influencing characteristic, where some of them at one โ˜๏ธ point have actively participate in different things apart from busy schedule of university…. Nevertheless not only I got chances to listen to various experiences from my group but also talks directed towards different 10 transferable skills๐Ÿ““๐Ÿ““๐Ÿ“… As per advised being a good student ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐ŸŽ“ we all have written prior session but during the discussion it appears to be more clearer …. from this discussion I too get to trigger myself about my skills that I have gained prior coming to GCU and how far I have improved my attributes. In this case , prior coming in Uk ๐Ÿ‡ฌ๐Ÿ‡ง I have got some kind of achievement such as my bachelor degree in nursing, kinda good at team work, got award as good RJ of the year … But during this PDP session group discussion I realise I had lot of improvement such as in communicating with people, sharing views, priotizing individuals and to my surprise I too was able to listen ๐Ÿ‘‚ more patiently than before… As during this session I listen quite effectively to my group and grasp their experiences as well….๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐ŸŽ“ Most interestingly apart from that our discussion too directed towards religious parameter where one of my group mate asked the reason behind why some of the cultural background people did not eat pork ๐Ÿ–????? where one of us stated why some religions believe pork as a dirty animals and it eats whatever it got… during this time all of us gives our own views… However, at last of this discussion one of our group mate who is vet doc back home clarified more clearly that “Pigs are not nasty ๐Ÿคข to eat , they eat for bodily thermodynamics and pork is the most intelligent ๐Ÿค“ animals as well”.. Wow ๐Ÿ˜ฎ it too was shocking for me because I never knew so much about it.. Moreover, through this discussion I realise we all are confident enough to share the knowledge we have got and also we all are good at addressing things in different way… So, without this group session I might not got chance to realise my achievement as well as skills developed during my study at GCU โฐ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐ŸŽ“.. After talk I realise I am kinda poor at managing my time and got chances how my fellow group are managing their time..

So, overall I believe this kind of PDP session makes us more aware, confidence and act as a stress relieve therapy among ๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐ŸŽ“students…

4 thoughts on “PDP: Sharing experiences”

Leave a comment